Elixir Vitae

New Mercury copy

A015

Elixir Vitae is Part 3 of my Taliesin-reduct relating the time I encountered Merlin the Wizard. Part 2, Tattle, had Merlin free my underworld protagonist from the bewitching Morgan Le Faye and guide them to the top of a stone staircase. It is here that they are currently being held in the grip of enchanted stones and sleeping deeply. Archimedes, the Wizard’s Owl, stands upon the last stepping stair, mere yards from the protagonists reposing form. It might appear the end is nigh for Merlin’s quill-seeking guest, but perhaps all in not quite as it seems…

~ Elixir Vitae ~ By ~ Dewin Nefol ~

~~~

Night’s raptor, my captor, extends out wide

his titian tailored wings.

And gazing out through lantern eyes

has scathing words to sing!

~

“Fool!” Screeches he, with ferocious zeal,

standing taller as if to admonish!

“If you’d never erred at Morgana’s sugared words,

there’d be one less Kelpie to vanquish!”

~

“Come, come Archamedies, you pontificating foul,

high virtue never suited your swagger!”

“My heart might once have been with sweet, sweet Nimuhe,

bound in her forest of thorny daggers.”

~

“You’re the Seer who sees, but I cannot believe,

how you’ve taken so many wrong turns!”

“Harder to conceive as ‘your Eminence Grise’,

is why we’re bound in this infernal tomb!”

~

“Ah, yes, indeed, attending Kingly needs,

had me lose sight of my Wizard’s Wave.”

“Yet ‘twas for Love’s sake, our Lady of the Lake

forged the One Quill for Arthur’s enclave.”

~

“Ynys Afallon,” sighed Archimedes fondly,

misting over memories, fable and fantasy.

“Insula Avalonis,” sighed Merlinus lovingly,

“Do apple trees still blossom in Arthur’s cemetery?”

~

“Lonely in darkness under those fragrant boughs,

I’d yearn my heartache away.”

“Lest I miss the request from beyond earthly rest,

granting Arthur’s return to the light of day.”

~

“We’d long for darkness beneath Empress skies

to sit and gaze upon glistening stars.”

“I recall his delight, one night, correcting my sight.”

“’That’s Venus” he chuckled, “not Mars!”

~

“An undisciplined imp with disrespectful wit,

there’s not much more to him than that!”

“A trickster, conjurer, poor king-maker’s neophyte!”

“A fabled Monarch sadly gone from sight.”

~

”900 years since his untimely passing,

and still such scold for his mischief-making?”

“Dear Archie, I love the way you remember him,

Ingraine’s fair haired boy we raised as King!”

~

“Merlin,” Archimedes coughed and wiped away a tear.

“There’s wizard’s work still left to be done.”

“We’ve another buccaneer in dry dock over here,

seeking fellowship back to the Sun.”

~

“Quite so,” agreed Merlin, “ we really should begin,

our guest tires of being so tethered.”

“I’m intrigued to know where he’s seeking to go,

on a journey questing Golden Feathers!”

~

“A fellowship you say? Adventuring starry skies?

“Trail blazing providence far away?”

“Ah! Such energy within, to speed off voyaging!”

“Path finding the entire Milky Way!”

~

“Archie, please remind me again, it’s been a while

since I last cast with Magic words.”

“You’ll recall the spell, you’re an Oracle,

and wisest of all the birds!”

~

“Solvite Corporea et Coagulate Spiritus”

Archimedes chanted as if an Alchemical Art.

“Indeed! Dissolve the Body, Coagulate the Spirit!”

Merlin implored my insentient heart.

~

Fleeting, flowing, fading form slides

deep darkness from my dreams.

Dappled pools of light and shade

amass between moonbeams.

~

Grey gives way to mottled cream,

inward dreams are magnified.

Projected in the cavernous glow,

as flickering lantern slides.

~

Pulsing upon the screen of cream

a light does shine like none I’ve seen,

Piercing shards of lightening white

emanate outwards blinding my sight, but…

~

…solidifying slowly, fluorescence finds form,

compressing to swell outline and brim.

I sense unearthly company materialise before me,

Spirits manifesting in mirror’s margin!

~

Magic mirror of dreams unfolding such scenes,

revealing beings distilled from pure light!

Suddenly I feel so feathery light, as if I just might,

take swift flight across to the other side!

~

”I think he now sees,” Archie quietly suggested,

moving aside to let a figure pass.

In glimmering silk parading celestial spheres,

Merlin approached the looking glass.

~

His figure is silhouetted against a sweep of stars,

wrapped in an aura of scintillating flare.

Light sparks and arcs and spirals around him,

as he reaches the threshold stair.

~

“I’m Myrddin,” declared a voice behind an arm

extending a hand in ancient tradition.

“You are welcome here, and will come to no harm,

whilst we seek to fulfil your intention.”

~

”My precocious feathered bird impatient to screech,

flies under the call-sign Archimedes.”

“He possesses elevated reach, and faculties to teach

precious wisdom where ’tis most needed.”

~

”There’s one other here you’ll know quite well,

an Adept of both speed and flight.”

“I believe you’ve encountered my Mercurial friend,

chasing vapours of silvery light.”

~

“He’s often here quickening trips and journeys,

travelling with souls in his role as Hermes.”

“I’m told he’ll sequester you following your return,

to share a secret for only you to learn.”

~

“Formalities aside, I’m here as your guide.”

“A life-long friend if you’ll permit me to be?”

“There’s a little farther to go, deeper paths below,

along smooth passages to set you free.”

~

Sweet melody and euphony, trickled with vitality,

washing words over me, his magic stirred so potently,

such power wielded nobly,

that I was held spellbound!

~

I yielded,

to enchantment, to Myrddin’s healing draft,

to his realm I was here occupying.

This was my dream finding his island mid stream,

this gateway between living and dying.

~

For those lonely years spent soulfully wandering,

hoping for the one great way.

For those long journeys now come and gone,

were fading in the grey.

~

For those long hours spent alone and wondering,

reaching for the one higher stay.

For those lonely nights now come and gone,

were dawning upon the day.

~

“Come now” said He, “we’d best make haste,

there is little time for delay.”

”This confounded ectoplasm burns so quick!”

“And you must be on your way.”

~~~~~ + ~~~~~

~ Part 4 ~ ‘Copper Door’ ~ to follow shortly ~

~~~

44 thoughts on “Elixir Vitae

  1. Dearest Dewin,

    How do you do it?

    “This was my dream finding his island mid stream, this gateway between living and dying.” I feel so much emotion in that one line. And: “This confounded ectoplasm burns so quick, and you must be on your way!” “confounded ectoplasm!” Reminds me of Shakespeare’s “What a piece of work is man!”

    One thing is for sure, I adore the Well from which you draw. So glad to “see” you back here, with your continued poem. I was in the midst of my last midterm when I saw your post and “tucked it away” in a safe place for reading now. I admit my brain is fried. But, this Bardic tale is savory and rich and easily understood with the senses while this world is imagined through your careful words.

    Excellent!

    I appreciate these humorous lines, ““We’ve another buccaneer in dry dock over here, seeking fellowship back to the Sun.” 🙂 and, ““Ah, yes, indeed, attending Kingly needs, had me lose sight of my wizard’s wave.” Sorry these parts are in the order I remember them, not the actual sequence of your poem. “Wizard’s wave!”

    Finally, here’s what shimmered for me:

    “I sense unearthly company materialise before me, Spirits manifesting in mirror’s margin!”

    “In glimmering silk parading celestial spheres, Merlin approached the looking glass.”

    Okay, you get the point… I really liked it.

    🙂 Nice to see you again, most certainly,
    Warmest regards,
    Ka

    • Hey Ka,

      It’s wonderful to see you back here again and taking a break from busy weeks and hectic days to say hello. 🙂 I put some verse together by way of an apology, a thank you, and a reply…

      I hope you’ll forgive this rueful rogue,
      I’ve been quite amiss whilst on the road,
      I’m something of a naughty toad,
      to have failed replying to previous comments…I am sorry 🙂

      I’ve missed the scent of your Herbalist’s Sage,
      your wisdom and Herboristerie.
      I’ve missed the sense in your sagacious Sage,
      your wisdom and Phytothérapie.

      Could I tell you how much your comment means to me,
      without repeatedly referring to my smile? 🙂

      Could I tell you how much your comment means to me,
      without recognising generosity in your style?

      Could I tell you how much your comment means to me,
      without recurrently referring to my smile? 🙂

      Could I tell you how much your comment means to me,
      without recollecting kindness in your style?

      Could I tell you how much your comment means to me,
      without reiteratively referring to my smile? 🙂

      Could I tell you how much your comment means to me,
      without remembering graciously, gratefully and gratifyingly,
      the broadness of my smile?

      You made my day visiting and wrapping one of your petals around every kind word. Thank you 🙂 Your wonderful comment is really inspiring and I’m grateful for your enjoyment of the poem, which I hope will continue a little further and have you read it as well.

      I’m also pleased to hear you liked the Wizard’s wave. Here’s a little ripple for you…

      ‘The wave of a Wizards weave is woven with the weave of a Wizards wave. Without a Wizard weaving wave, the wave woven without the Wizard’s weave, is not a weaving Wizard’s wave.’ 🙂

      You mention your exams and I must ask how the mid-term’s went? I was hoping you’d do well, and kept everything crossed for you. Looking forward to hearing the results!

      Thank you for visiting. Best wishes always in all ways for always 🙂

      Namaste

      DN – 27/02/2016

      • Your reply, Dewin, made me smile broadly this morning over my oatmeal.

        I did very well on my exams, Dewin. Thank you. It’s but one of many tests, the goal these days are just to “show up” and “keep at it.” Even then, I was amazed to see that I did well!

        I appreciate your nearly tongue twister of the wizard’s weave, to go along with the wizard’s wave! It is quite fun to read aloud, and I shall have to share it with my husband. done 🙂

        “The wave of a Wizards weave is woven with the weave of a Wizards wave. Without a Wizard weaving wave, the wave woven without the Wizard’s weave, is not a weaving Wizard’s wave! 🙂 ”

        I look forward to reading more! Do you read your work aloud? The language you use seems so compatible with sound waves.
        Aloha,
        Ka

      • Hey Ka,

        A broad smile is always better enjoyed over a bowl of oatmeal in the morning 🙂

        Very pleased indeed to hear of exam success! Wonderful news. You are naturally predisposed to the practice being undertaken and gifted with an astute mind readily able to absorb the knowledge…it must be that ‘New Head’ you acquired a little time ago assisting you in your studious endeavours…what name did you give him in the end? Success is inspiring, and amazement always elevating, don’t you think Ka? 😉

        You ask if I read my poems aloud, and yes I do. Words have a secret life of their own both on and off the paper, as I am certain you know already. Your poetry is always eloquent 🙂

        Thank you for your kind reply and returning visit. I hope hubby enjoys the wave of a Wizard’s weave, and you both enjoy the wonderful wave of your Wizard’s woven weave, waving and weaving a wonderful weekend for the two of you. 🙂

        Take care.

        Namaste

        DN – 27/02/2016

      • Hi Dewin,
        Thank you for believing in me, it certainly helps. I feel very supported by those who also walk the paths we walk, over long periods of time, from ages ago we find ourselves here in the light of a “new” day.

        Quite glad to hear you do read your poems aloud as I have had the pleasure of so doing.

        I think success is inspiring, but also what is inspiring is the resolve to continue, the dedicated effort that keeps showing up within me. I pray it never fails, for an external test is nothing to the heart’s resolve for unity with the mind in service to the greater Self – and just to be a good buddy along the way. My Mr. Ka did enjoy your poem, btw. 🙂

        So much ahead of us, and so much behind, well- we are quite mature here in the middle, sitting with it all, and letting it arrange itself again, and again, into our arts, whatever form they may be, dance for us.

        Have a lovely Sunday, Namaste
        Ka

      • Hey Ka,

        I do recall posts on your Blog where you’ve made mention of ‘those who also walk the paths we walk, over long periods of time, from ages ago’, and how you have felt so inspired by their presence. I was fascinated by your sensitivity and awareness, and the degree of understanding you have in knowing these abilities within you are gifts to be treasured and utilised. They are the tools of someone with a very deep perception of life, and perfect for assisting you in healing others.

        So you enjoy airing the lines of my ditties? 🙂 Sometimes as I read back through the verse other forms of word play will arise where rhythms vary and move, and I’ll chuckle away to myself or wear a wayward smile depending on my mood. I feel like a cat playing with a ball of string.

        ‘I pray it never fails, for an external test is nothing to the heart’s resolve for unity with the mind in service to the greater Self’. Beautiful. Did you write this line? My Mr. Ka, I like the sweetness of that. You have such strength.

        ‘So much ahead of us, and so much behind’. Our memories are always with us, but can there ever really be anything else left behind us? I like to believe the universe projects itself upon the screen of our eye as an endless movie and every scene is the very last frame in its unfolding film. I hope it never ends. Is this what you meant by, ‘here in the middle, sitting with it all, letting it arrange itself again, and again, into our arts’. You express yourself so well.

        I’d like to hear more about your dancing 🙂 Have you watched this short film before?

        My Sunday was wonderful thank you Ka. I do enjoy the weekends very much and relish the time they afford to relax and unwind. Sometimes two days are two days too few and two more would still be two less.

        Have a wonderful leap year day 🙂

        Namaste

        DN – 29/02/2016

      • Hi Dewin,

        Hah! Yes, I know this: ” Sometimes as I read back through the verse other forms of word play will arise where rhythms vary and move, and I’ll chuckle away to myself or wear a wayward smile depending on my mood. I feel like a cat playing with a ball of string.”

        Hope this message finds you cheery. 🙂

        Yes, I believe it never will end…

        Dancing needs to happen more. My Mr. Ka is my sweet.

        I had never seen this sort film before, how interesting and it reminds me of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ys5xfdn5rlo which I saw on another blogger’s account: Margo’s, I believe, at: http://lifeasimprov.com/

        I’m so glad you enjoyed your Sunday. Have a brilliant week ahead with lots of inspirations. I hear you on weekends, unfortunately I have to find a way to be busy studying with deadlines while also enjoying myself. I’m getting better at it, have a long ways to go… please soak up some weekend for me in the months to come.

        Aloha,
        Ka

    • Hey Ka,

      Thank you for considering my image and finding intrigue in the smoky swell of spectres 🙂

      The picture is not recent, rather it was intended as the backdrop for an animated film some years ago. It was never used in the final sequence as the project remained unfinished. As the backdrop to my film, the faces would be less easily distinguished and more impressionistic, such is the distraction of a moving image. The faces remain ambiguous in that they are not representative of specific individuals per se, but relate more broadly to events having already taken place in my life. I hope the image works well here to tie in with the themes of the third chapter and peak interest.

      Thank you for your question…

      Tis the haunt of mind’s ghosts and phantoms, flushing silently away,
      Memories washed from body’s grave, by Merlin’s Elixir Vitae.

      I retain most if not all of the artwork created for the film and have already presented some of those pieces on earlier blog posts: for instance, the Elemental Butterflies. I may yet find chance to use a couple more of those images if they still suit the flow. Might I one day set about completing the film project? Perhaps. Perhaps not.

      Perhaps I’m just content to have the artwork nestle here and be happy to let it go with the memories it contains. Time for something new. 🙂

      Namaste

      DN – 27/02/2016

      • Thank you, for your reply 🙂 It’s nice to know about your film, and about how the images fit in with your piece. “Tis the haunt of mind’s ghosts and phantoms, flushing silently away, memories washed from body’s grave, by Merlin’s Elixir Vitae.” Now that is inspiring and refreshing!

        Truly inspiring is the flow…

        Appreciating what shows up,
        Ka

  2. Hey Dewin!!
    So nice to see you here with your third in the series. This is so great!
    First of all, the image is quite spectacular with spirits manifesting in mirror’s margin. And those Bones! Like ribs.

    Somehow, I missed the images in the first two before. Did you put them in since, or were they there all along? Entering the cave and then the stairs.
    “Magic mirror of dreams unfolding such scenes, revealing beings distilled from pure light! Suddenly I feel so feathery light as if I just might take swift flight across to the other side!” I love this verse.
    I knew Merlin would come through! Yay!
    “His figure is silhouetted against a sweep of stars, wrapped in an aura of scintillating flare. Light sparks and arcs and spirals around him, as he reaches the threshold stair.”
    Just as I picture him, you put words to it. So cool!
    “You are welcome here and will come to no harm, whilst we seek to fulfill your intention.”
    I would always trust Merlin.
    “This was my dream finding his island mid stream, this gateway between living and dying.”
    So beautiful, Dewin. As always your writing is thrilling. Always a joy to read. And I knew you would fit Hermes in there somewhere! Haha! Part of my joy in reading this also, is just seeing you here. I miss you. Thank you for liking some of my posts. It’s always nice to know that you have been there. Good to see you, Dewin. I look very much forward to Copper Door! 🙂
    Namaste
    Mary

  3. Hey Mary,

    Its wonderful to see the trail of your tracks trailing here to leave their feather light touch upon my page. It is a beautiful comment, thank you 🙂

    Your previous paths to Dewin’s haven’t gone undiscovered, or the kindness of your comments unnoticed, but….

    Could you forgive this errant stray,
    for the transient nature of erratic ways?
    Would you forgive him for missed past days,
    for not replying to previous comments…I am sorry 🙂

    I’ve missed the sensibility of your Natural Jade
    that flows from mindfully wondering.
    I’ve missed the sensitivity of your Earthly Jade
    that flows from mindfully wandering.

    Have I told you what your comment means to me,
    without referring frequently to my smile? 🙂

    Have I told you what your comment means to me,
    or how it was so wonderfully delightful to read?

    Have I told you what your comment means to me,
    without referring consistently to my smile? 🙂

    Have I told you what your comment means to me
    or how it was so pleasurably enjoyable to read?

    Have I told you what your comment means to me,
    without referring periodically to my smile? 🙂

    Have I told you what your comment means to me,
    without reminiscing graciously, gratefully and gratifyingly,
    upon my beaming smile?

    Thank you for trailing thrilling words and kind sentiment, and for bringing the beauty of Nature with you 🙂 I have missed the emerald sparkle of your company and the kindness in the whisper of your soft voice. It’s lovely to see you here again, thank you for visiting Mary. That you have followed in the footsteps of the poem’s reluctant quill-seeker through three chapters and continue to do so is most reassuring. I imagine like me, our seeker is grateful for your companionship and support.

    Merlin always comes through in the end! 🙂 Indeed! I like the sound of that, and trust that he’ll stay a life-long friend and guiding light…I’ll need him here to help write the next chapter! 🙂

    The inclusion of photographs on Prattle and Tattle are recent amendments to both posts. The first photograph is of West Kennet Long-barrow: a Neolithic tomb perched on a high ridge overlooking Silbury Hill and the large Avebury Stone circle in Wiltshire (UK). The area is said to have once been the oomphalos of Neolithic culture and is but a ‘stones throw’ away from Stonehenge itself. The second photograph was taken at a reservoir in the Brecon Becons (Wales, UK). It is the interior of an overflow pipe, or sluice, which runs adjacent to the main reservoir with the intention of regulating the volume of water in the lake. The photograph was taken during low rainfall season and the pipe perfectly safe to enter. The acoustics were amazing! Phonetically, the word ‘sluice’ is not dissimilar to the word ‘slues,’ which means to ‘turn (a mast or other spar) around on its own axis, or without removing it from its place.’ I thought it a merry quip and lyrically fitting for the wayward Buccaneer. 🙂

    I’ve never ventured far from your Blog, or lost the mindful trail there and back again. Your site always offers opportunity to draw from the tranquillity vein running deeply through the heart of Mother Earth and is a wonderful place to stop and rest a while or walk a path or two.

    It’s good to see you. I hope you’ll enjoy Copper Door!

    Take care. Best wishes always in all ways for always 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 28/02/2016

  4. I’m glad you don’t stray far from my wanderings, and you walk a path or two. Thanks for leaving a few tracks and feathers along the way. Is Copper Door opening soon?

    I always wish you peaceful paths always in all ways for always.

    Namaste
    Mary

    • Thank you 🙂

      Never far from your wanderings Mary, merely a mouse click away 🙂

      ‘Copper Door’ is a little slow to start, but i’ll push on and see where paths choose to take me.

      Your always peaceful paths are in all ways, always for all ways, ways of peace.

      Have a wonderful week! 🙂

      Namaste

      DN – 29/02/2016

  5. Hey Dewin, another amazing chapter in your tale. You really possess a magic with words 🙂

    As others have written here, there are many lines in your epic poem that capture the imagination of the reader and linger long after the poem has been read. It was hard to choose, but my favourite:

    ‘We’d long for darkness beneath Empress skies
    to sit and gaze upon glistening stars.’

    I can’t wait to read Copper Door…

    Brightest Blessings

    • Hey Sammi,

      How are you? 🙂

      I’m delighted you found the roadway clear,
      and arrived this side of the River.
      Your Sammi ‘scribble’ upon my page,
      will gladden me for ever!

      Thank you for your warm words of encouraging support, and the sprinkle of pixie-dust that is your gifting card. Before adding a little more to my reply, I have an apology to share…
      ~
      Should you excuse this harried Harlequin?
      Or forgive him for making no sense?
      Could you tolerate this tarried Copernican?
      For not replying to previous comments?…I’m sorry 🙂
      ~
      I left a poem upon your page,
      in the hopes it may appease. So
      would you forgive this weevil’d Welsh cake,
      if he were to only say ‘please’? Please? 🙂

      Knowing you’ve found a sense of enjoyment in my quill-seeker’s unfolding drama and take a line or two away with you as favourites is all very heartening. One cannot always be the best judge of their own work whilst immersed within it, and to receive positive affirmation that it is coherent is most rewarding, thank you. The line you chose was one of my favourites as well, yet it might also have been written in consideration of what could follow in Copper Door 🙂 You are very astute. I’d be delighted to have you visit and read that poem when published. Your views are always most welcome, as too your company here at Dewin’s. Always wonderful to see you here.

      Late afternoon has chased the day,
      towards its recurring demise,
      The hour-glass is running low, and
      there’s verse left to devise.

      So I’d best away to press on with words and have words press on with me. Thank you for your visit Sammi. Have a wonderful Friday and a thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

      Take care always in all ways for always 🙂

      Namaste

      DN – 03/03/2016

      • Hey Dewin, How are you? I hope you had a great weekend.

        No apology is necessary, you weevil’d Welsh Cake 🙂 lol

        I could have listed so many lines as my favourite, but I would have ended up copying the whole thing!

        I’m looking forward to reading Copper Door. How is it coming along? How many parts do you envision writing before your epic is complete? I can imagine sitting somewhere very green, in the sun, with a glass of wine in hand, reading the whole thing from beginning to end 🙂

        Wishing you the Brightest of Blessings 🙂

      • Hey Sammi,

        Well now it’s good to see you back here once more and leaving a couple of smiles with your kind comment. Thank you 🙂 I trust all is well with you, as to your Gran…so sorry to read of Minty’s passing. She is a sweet looking cat, and I imagine a wonderful friend to lose.

        My weekend was fair-to-middlin’, as they say, caught somewhere between okay and quite good with an odd moment or two of delight dappling the mix. We even had sunshine! So I mustn’t grumble.

        Thank you for accepting my apology 🙂 I do like the word ‘weevil’…there’s something mischievous to it in an impish way. I was saying to Ka at Fiesta Estrella something similar about the concocted word, ‘hooding’, as in wearing a hood in order to be disguised when carrying out puckish deeds. Nothing bad of course, more like apple scrumping or hedge-hopping. Perhaps one could combine the two words together, Hooding and Weevil and have a hooded weevil: ideal for those occasions when the dastardly deed is just a little more rapscallion.

        ‘I can imagine sitting somewhere very green, in the sun, with a glass of wine in hand, reading the whole thing from beginning to end.’ Now that does sound an ideal way to pass a few minutes one afternoon lol Thank you. Perhaps I should do that a little more often when writing it as well?

        Copper Door is dragging its heels and slow to start. I am always full of good intention, and have persisted, but as yet I have not found the right groove per se. The ideas are workable, it’s the execution that is stalling. I feel so easily distracted at this time and my focus is lacking clarity. I started with the intention of just doing three chapters and leaving it at that, but I know there is reward for the Quill-seeker should they push on in the dark and go a little deeper still. I think 5 chapters should give the story chance to find a natural ending.

        I hope I can look forward to reading your valued perspective when it is published. 🙂

        Many thanks for dropping by. Have an enjoyable evening.

        Namaste

        DN – 07/03/2016

      • Hey Dewin, How are you? Hope you’ve had a good day. Thank you again for your kind comments regarding my Nan and her cat. Deeply appreciated 🙂

        Weevil is a great word – unless you’re a bag of flour 😉 Definitely impish, and who doesn’t like imps? Rapscallion is another fabulous word!

        Writing with a glass of wine in hand? Sounds very sophisticated 🙂

        I hope Copper Door starts playing ball soon. I will certainly be dropping by once more when it is published.

        Wishing you bright blessings for the rest of the week and all through the weekend. 🙂

      • Hey Sammi,

        It’s very nice of you to come by and say ‘hello’. ‘Hello’ 🙂 I’m not to bad thank you for asking, and you? Had a good day?

        Animals, pets, cats, generously share all of who they are with unconditional love and ask only for affection and the opportunity to have us share all of who we are with them. When they leave us we lose more than just a friend but not the strength of heart that they inspired to always love life.

        Please pass all best wishes to your gran 🙂

        You like ‘rapscallion’ eh? To me it conjures images of pirates and buccaneers, of buried treasure and lost islands, and of stories of daring-do upon far-flung tropical seas, arrrgh! lol 😀

        ‘Writing with a glass of wine in hand? Sounds very sophisticated.’ And so very different from my normal tipple of mango juice and copious cups of tea. I’m not sure I could ever be sophisticated enough to merrily quaff wine, but perhaps wine quaffing is something to work towards, or will happen naturally with the stress and strain of writing!

        Thank you for further encouragement with the writing of Copper Door…and thank you in anticipation of you dropping by once more when the poem is published. You’ll be most welcome.

        Have a crazy old weekend! Do one thing differently to normal and see where the day leads you from there…

        Namaste

        DN – 11/03/2016

  6. Dear Dewin,

    I was short on time last evening, and I wanted to savour the story and refresh myself on the other chapters within your story…

    I can almost visually see Merlin and his wonderful companion Archamedies, the wise Owl whose eloquent memory of spells helps dust the cobwebs away from Merlins wand…

    I love the humour you have injected within your amazing dialogue Dewin…and can see it playing out within my imagination…

    “Come come Archamedies, you pontificating foul,” brought a grin to my face. And then the retort back, “You’re the Seer who sees, but I cannot believe how you’ve taken so many wrong turns!”

    Haha… Made me smile even more, as I recount my own ability to ‘See’ for other people and yet blindly stumble through my own tunnel lol 🙂

    And you set the scene with your Dream sequence of transforming

    “Grey gives way to mottled cream,
    inward dreams are magnified.
    Projected in the cavernous glow,
    as flickering lantern slides”

    ‘Solidifying slowly, fluorescence finds form”. I was there among the swirls of magical transformation.

    You paint your own Magic Mirror Dewin with your vivid thoughts full of pure illusion and poetic genius.

    Thank you for this continued tale.. And I look forward to seeing what lies behind the Copper Door.

    And loved your graphics.. Bones for arches entombed within the labyrinth 🙂

    Amazing Talent my friend.

    Blessings Sue

    • Hey Sue,

      Dreaming drums and drumming dreams,
      sound out across the stage, and
      echo through the WordPress halls,
      to alight upon my page.
      ~
      It’s a delight to ‘see’ you back at Dewin’s, returning to savour the flavour of Elixir Vitae and spin your yarn of kindly words. Thank you 🙂

      The beats and rhythms of your dreaming drum still reverberate from previous visits and play their merry tune. I should have listened more carefully to their melody, and have an apology to offer for my lack of response…
      ~
      I hope you’ll forgive this wretched imbecile,
      for unwitting mistakes more befitting a fool.
      Could you forgive him for being lackadaisical?
      And not replying to previous comments?…I’m sorry 🙂
      ~
      I’ve missed the vision of your Dreaming Stone
      and your high-peaking perceptivity.
      I’ve missed the pulse of your Drumming Stone
      and your high-harmonic frequency.
      ~

      Your comment is munificent Sue, thank you, crafted as always with wonderful generosity from a knit of mellow musings and intuitive thoughts in your inimitable style. Very grateful, thank you 🙂 As the Dreamwalker who ‘sees’…you’re always welcome to ‘look’ in on the quill-seeker and ‘see’ how’s he’s faring.

      It’s wonderful to feel lifted by appreciative words and know that others are finding enjoyment in the poem. I’m encouraged by your choice of lines and verses, and pleased to know the humour is to your liking. Writing the poem is a wholly enjoyable experience and full of challenges and obstacles which once overcome, leave a chuckle or three to sink between the words of the next line or verse. And I do like to laugh! I sit here sometimes amusing myself by acting out the protagonist’s conversations and trying to define their characters as they interact with each other. It can be a lot fun. Archimedes, the pontificating owl, had to be slightly pompous and aloof with a ribbing edge and a scholarly vibe, and Merlin, the prattling ghoul, a vaguely bemused and mischievous scoundrel with a compassionate heart and antiquated ways. Despite their gentle bickering and teasing, Merlin and Archimedes are symbiotic, inseparable both in friendship and in spirit, and it is indeed Archie who casts the words and Merlin who weaves the wave to create the one spell. They are a dynamic duo, from ancient history, a pair of bumbling buffoons, who now write this poetry. I’ve asked them to leave, but still they stay, they tell me they’re needed, on the Buccaneer’s way. 🙂 I’m sure the Buccaneer would get lost in the dark without them lol I hope to develop their characters further as the poem progresses, and look forward to trying to do so.

      You mention the dream sequence and the magic mirror opening its view to the other side. Acknowledging the enjoyment I derive from the cinematic experience provided a starting point for writing this section of the poem. I like the journey to the cinema, the expectation and anticipation of the film, the darkness that descends in the auditorium once we’re snug in the seat, the sudden burst of light and colour upon the screen, and lastly, the dream one enters when totally absorbed watching. Film is magic, enchanting, captivating, engaging and willingly absorbs us into its spell. We gaze upon the silver screen and invest the unfolding story with our emotion and reasoning, always drawing from life experiences and our wonderfully thought-provoking imaginations to guide our perception and understanding. The cinema screen is our screen of dreams and we see reflections of ourselves in the stories we watch. In the poem, it is Merlin who lights up the mirror with magic and projects himself upon it, but the quill-seeking buccaneer who watches the story unfold and determines the nature of the illusion he sees.

      Thank you for continued readership and the prospect of your return for Copper Door. As always Sue, your comment has given me much to think about and consider. Your appreciation of the graphics is gratefully acknowledged as well. Thank you on both counts.

      Have a wonderful weekend. Good luck with the writing….I trust the Universal Delivery Van delivers to your door as scheduled.

      Take care always in all ways for always 🙂

      Namaste

      DN – 05/03/2016

      • Wow.. No need to apologise Dewin.. this comment has more than made up for the few lines I leave. And yes I love the cinema too.. And enjoy the way we can let our imagination be translated.. Some have gifts of words which others translate into fantasy of film.. To write a story in poem is not always easy.. I know as I once participated in an online story which I wished I had kept track of.. I posted several chapters which was accepted in a fantasy tale of Goblins and the Little folk.. It was on an older computer which died, so the scripts also got lost.. So I truly appreciate the thought that goes into each of your lines..
        And Yes the Delivery Van is on schedule.. Just putting the final touches.. And by tomorrow Evening it will hopefully have arrived 🙂
        Many thanks again Dewin.. Loved your reply.. and your sense of humour 🙂
        Sue

      • Hey Sue,

        Thank you for replying and accepting my apology. My commenting inactivity is always unintended, but I do need reigning in sometimes and reminding of the error of my ways 😉

        Congratulations in having had your story put into print! 😀 That’s a marvellous achievement, and something to be very proud of. I know I would thoroughly enjoy reading it if a copy ever came to light. The whole idea of sharing the experience of writing a story must have generated a lot of ideas and benefited from differing perspectives adding to the conceptual mix. I recall participating in-group film productions at university and found the flow of ideas less restricted, more malleable, and freer to grow. It is not always easy to relinquish control of an artistic project, but upon reflection, I think it an essential practice to remain fluid within the vision and allow it to be gently swayed and influenced and allowed to develop organically. I think better results are achieved when a more rounded approach is taken. My projects tend to take time to do and I am never the same person sitting down to type as I was the day before, and always bring the day’s thoughts to the keyboard whilst writing. Sometimes that can be constructive, at others times limiting; one just has to go with the flow.

        This poem is my first experience of story telling and I’ve so much still to learn as I proceed ahead. But that is part and parcel of the adventure and something to relish. I’m very much looking forward to seeing where ideas take me and then looking back to see where they came from! Hopefully I would have developed better skills and broader understanding along the way, and be better equipped for the next journey. Fingers crossed.

        Thank you for your comments Sue. I’ll look forward to Sunday evening and the showcase release at Dreamwalker’s. Popcorn anyone? 🙂

        Namaste

        DN – 05/03/2016

      • Haha… to the last Paragraph Dewin.. 🙂 And yes the Author who set the scene for the basis of the story totally let those participating use their imagination to take the story from one entry to the next.. And it’s theme never lost momentum or the characters that I introduced… 🙂
        I agree our thoughts are often influenced via our moods and going within the flow of what jumps into our thoughts I feel always lends itself to a better tale, other than when we have sat and tried to force something to happen..
        Just like Life in general.. Keeping within the flow is better than swimming against the tide.. 🙂
        I hope you enjoy the Popcorn Dewin.. and all this waiting is not deflating 😉 when the curtain finally rises for the encore 🙂

      • Hey Sue,

        I enjoyed the melody and humour in your last poetic line. The word ‘encore’ has me intrigued…is this artistic licence, or further subtle tease? Does it hint at surprises in Universal Deliveries? 😉

        ‘Just like Life in general.. Keeping within the flow is better than swimming against the tide..’ I couldn’t agree with this more. Wise words indeed. Thank you 🙂

        Right, popcorn at the ready, I’m heading off to Dreamwalker’s…see you soon!

        Namaste

        DN – 06/03/2016

      • Hey Sue,

        😀 Indeed it was a surprise! lol Totally unexpected, and thoroughly enjoyed. You gave absolutely nothing away in the build up, no clues, or subtleties that I could discern. I even read back to make sure, but found no trace…just an ever-present tune in the happiness of your words and memories. Great writing Sue! So yes, I did enjoy the show, the musical interlude was especially good. Just goes to show, it’s never to late to bring to fruition our closely held dreams 😀

        So now, I’m looking forward to hearing you play, and can’t wait for ‘opening night’! Do you have a tune in mind already, perhaps something to work towards?

        Thank you for your interest here, it’s been a lot of fun having you visit.

        Happy strumming, happy drumming, happy days! You sound wonderfully content. 😀

        DN – 07/03/2016

      • Haha.. so pleased to hear you say so Dewin about no clues. I was tempted and half hinted I think towards the end of one post when I said I was in harmony or something along those lines. 🙂

        As for a tune… No…and until I can play some measure of reasonable chords and hold my rhythm without looking at changing my hands lol…the Tune will be the last on the list .. I am learning following stages and I am not moving from one stage until I feel I have mastered one of them… 🙂 Thank you again for all of your interactions…I so appreciate this dialogue 🙂

      • Hey Sue,

        Tremolo and capo, chord and closed voicing,
        Intervals and inversions, and finger positioning,
        Footstools and plectrums, finger style and flatpicks,
        Modulators and cutaways, vibrato and pentatonics.
        Arrangements and arpeggio, triads and dropped-D tuning,
        Transcription and transposing, pull-offs and power-chording,
        Picking and plucking, string bending and strumming,
        Leading and rhythm-making, reaching and fretting,
        Tabs and tablature, and quick set-ups for a slider,
        Hammer-on! Hammer-on! Harmonious Stringwinder! 😀

        Many thanks for delightful comments and musical company! Good luck with the guitar playing, ‘Slow-hand’ Sue 😀

        Namaste

        DN – 08/03/2016

      • My pleasure 🙂 Pleased you enjoyed it.

        lol 😀 No knowledge whatsoever, just a few notes gleamed from an axe-wielding ‘dude’ of a rocking cousin, and a good glossary of guitar related terms. It’s you who have the hard learning to do! 😉

        Take it easy ‘Six String’ Sue 🙂

        Namaste

        DN – 08/03/2016

  7. Hi DN, an epic still in its making. As I said to your face this could be a chapbook’s worth of writing especially if accompanied by illustration. Think about it. Well done wizard…

    • Hey PSJ,

      How are you? 🙂

      Thank you so much for taking time to venture this far east to Dewin’s, it’s always a delight to see you here dude 🙂

      As you know I was touched by your generous and appreciative comment and the wonderful encouragement it contained to consider taking this project still further. In all ways your words written here are inspiring: the prospect of getting published is indeed something I would relish.

      I have made a small start regarding ideas for illustrations to accompany the poem and scribbled down some very loose thoughts. They will be subject to change of course, and take time to develop further, but having a starting point to work from is very reassuring. Such an undertaking would be quite a challenge, but immensely rewarding, and personally fulfilling. Thank you for planting the seed of this idea.

      Looking ahead, and recalling mention of feathers…perhaps we do indeed have our own ‘white feather’ to focus upon and find best way to let it dare inspire us? 😉

      You know how I enjoy my slanted world view and find amusement in the significance of things…well, I took a look at a map of West Wales the other evening, purely out of curiosity, and was delighted to see a place called Rosebush, on the southern slopes of the Preseli Hills, and situated diagonally north of an area in Haverfordwest called Withybush. In-between them both, the Llys-y-fran Reservoir sat neatly alongside an area called Woodstock. A little to the east of Woodstock is a village called Wolf’s Castle, and southeast of that, the village of Bethlehem. My mind raced to pull all these pieces of information together, like a Lego set (lol) and I imagined they formed a story. The tale of a bold, literary Knight, who quests out from Withybush, passes through Bethlehem with the music of Woodstock keeping the Wolf in Castle, and journeys onwards to cross the crystal waters of moonlit Llys-y-fran, and in an ancient adventure, finally arrives in the slopes of the Preseli Hills to meet his Rose.

      Merlin’s Bridge appears south of Haverfordwest, but I think the questing Knight must have all the magic he needs to reach the Rosebush without concern. I wonder how far that journey is? 🙂

      Thank you visiting and commenting. Your advice, encouragement and support is wholeheartedly welcome, as to your friendship, guidance and sterling influence. There is so much to thank you for 🙂

      From one Wizard to a Bard and Mage….thank you so much PSJ

      Namaste

      DN – 11/03/2016

      • Hey PSJ,

        Succinctly sagacious as always. Genius. Thank you dude 😀

        Hoping your restful weekend flourished in the West, and your next week ends, to start your weekend, flourishing in the rest of the best of the West 😉

        Catch up soon for coffee and catch up? 🙂

        Namaste

        DN – 13/03/2016

      • Hi DN. Yes, we will catch up soon and the weekend was productive….

        Sleep tight,
        Paul

  8. Pingback: Ties |

Leave a Reply

